Wound-Up Roundup #10

It’s been a long time since the last roundup post (No. 9).  Plus, I’ve posted a fair amount of wank along the way.  And – get this!  Windows Live stats were, like, a thousand times off as far as accuracy.  How else could I explain WL stats showing 500 hits in a day, then WordPress showing anywhere from 1 to 30 per day.  Someone was Enron-ing my stats.  But I’m prone to believe the WordPress stats – depressing though they are – simply because they are so thorough about where the hits come from. 

So the links listed here are only to book-related posts.  Jus’ keepin’ it real…er…yo.

  Webnovelas feat. William Levy–Part 3

— judging by my stats, the webnovela posts are the most popular so, I posted a third collection of stories from the www.univision.com forums.  The stories can be found in the William Levy Forum, the Maite Perroni Forum and the Jacqueline Bracamontes Forum.

  The Daughter of Time–A Different Species of Murder Mystery

— This novel has a great plot. I don’t like mysteries, but this one is a big hit at www.amazon.co.uk. It took me a long time to get past the first couple of chapters because reading them was like watching dust collect on the coffee table. Words go by. They are sort of just there, yet nothing is happening.  It took a while for it to really take off.  It’s so terribly English. Still, it’s a super novel when all is said and done.

  Lora Leigh’s Elite Ops–The Final Mission

— sniff…sniff…waaaaaaahhhh…Don’t want to say goodbye!!!  Noah/Nathan, Micah/Maverick, John/Heat Seeker, Travis/Black Jack, Nik/Renegade, and now Jordan/Live Wire.  Jordan kind of reminds me of Acheron, the topic of the other most popular posts here at TFB. (Sorry about the pics not working.)  He’s mad, bad, and in charge. Everyone feels sorry for him one minute and wants to punch him the next.  He’s a thousand years older than the woman he’s in love with, but, well, I’m pretty much done complaining.  It’s been a grand series.  (Please check out the very nice reference chart. Print it, cut it out, laminate it.)

  INTO THE CROSSFIRE — Lisa Marie Rice

— Sweet story, and yet, not impressed with the quality of writing.  Still going to buy the next one in the series, though. [Hotter Than Wildfire: A Protectors Novel/Delta Force]

  ANTAEUS – A BURIED GEM THAT SHOULD BE UNEARTHED

Wow, how did I live so long without reading this journal?  It’s awesome! My first one was “The Pleasure of Reading” – one of the most emotionally and philosophically satisfying books I’ve ever read (the exact opposite of FREEDOM AND DEATH by Nikos Kazantzakis).  Granted, you can’t compare a journal with a novel exactly, but satisfying is satisfying.  I found some more through www.ebay.com.  If you can get your hands on some, they are a good reading investment.

 “FOCAL POINTS FOR THE PHILISTINE MANIAS OF THE EVILLY DERANGED”

There’s a lot of interesting things about this book – mainly it’s social message.  And I’m not all that squeamish, but this book is a but much to stomach.  It has a strong sleaze factor.  Which puts it on par with most written and visual drek you see these days.  I would say, read it once. If you can screw up the patience, read it again. I’ve read it twice and, again, I appreciate the message, agree with it even. But I know I’ll never go back to this book again.  This novel would appeal to alpha types who have a compulsion to exploit, practice body modification, or want to sleep with twins.

 WORLD CUP 2010 – SOUTH AFRICA WARMS UP TO BRING THE HEAT!

Aaaahh, I watch footage from the world cup and I still get goose bumps!  Up at 6 am to catch the first of four games for about 10 days! Then slowly winding down the rounds. America ejaculated prematurely – again.  England – yawnfest. France!  Holy Shit!!! A meltdown of operatic proportions. My heart goes out to Yoann Gourcuff.  Cuz he’s HAWT!  South Africa put on a decent show.  If they can do it, anyone can.  Putting a world cup together reminds me of the scenes in THE TEN COMMANDMENTS where the Hebrew slaves are working themselves to death building pyramids.

 A SERIES THAT DESERVES REVIVING – PLOTS & CHARACTERS IN THE FICTION OF AUSTEN, BRONTES, & ELIOT

Quoting myself from the original post: 

If you are a fan of Austen, the Bronte sisters, and/or George Eliot, beg, borrow, or steal a copy of this book. 

 SUMMER READING STARTS WITH SHOPPING

I like to do that thing that Nick Hornby does in his BELIEVER book review columns: include a list of books bought and books read. It’s amusing to see where the lists converge and diverge.

  Russell Brand – THE WRITER, THE PUNDIT, THE COMEDIAN. WHAT’S NOT TO LOVE? (HIS LACK OF FASHION SENSE?)

It’s so easy to write a review when your material is as good as this is.  I’m very fond of Russell in an annoying-but-adorable-hyper-puppy sort of way.  His writing style is casual, yet learned.  He’s no slouch in the grammar department. I would use his writing as an example of “voice” if I thought I could get away with it.

To conclude, I want to give a big shout-out to www.amazon.com who came up with a genius idea that’s perfect for me – buy-backs.  You can sell your books back if they are in good condition.  I’m up to $30 in gift cards. I love you gods of book retail!!!

Leave a Reply

