SUMMER READING STARTS WITH SHOPPING

 

What I bought

Product Details   Product Details  Product Details  

On Art and Life (Penguin Great Ideas)  

These I got from the ‘Maz, plus another six books from a church jumble sale.

What I’ve been reading

  • Literature: An Introduction to Fiction, Poetry & Drama; Part 4 – Writing
  • Writing Circles by Jim Vopat
  • The Epic of Gilgamesh
  • Lion’s Heat
  • Silent Truth

On top of that, I’ve got about four writing projects in various stages of composition…or perhaps, de-composition.  May has turned out to be the opposite of November – a most productive month for reading and writing.  I’m re-reading Gilgamesh for the third time since university, trying to convince myself that the story is as easy to digest as it looks.  I get the same feeling reading opera librettos.  I’m reading the lyrics in English and thinking, “Nah…really?  This is it? This is the big aria? If you don’t let me go marry my boyfriend, I shall run away to the mountains?  That’s not an opera; that’s an episode of One Tree Hill!”  Anyway, same sensation.

In a previous post, I kvetched about how Lora Leigh’s Elite Ops books were getting grittier (which is actually a good thing) and losing ground on the romance front (not a good thing).  Well, in this third book by the duo of Kenyon and Love, the same thing is happening.  Honestly, this book has one author too many.  It’s dragging terribly.  There’s a lot of internal monologue, some decent action.  The plot is pretty good, but the treatment, the pace, is dull.  Hunter and Abbie are talking inside their heads more than they are talking to each other.  He thinks she’s hot; she thinks he’s hot.  But almost 3/4 through the book, they’ve kissed twice and still can’t get on the same page mission-wise.  And there’s some gratuitous sleaze in the story as well.  Leigh is doing that too.  So, so far, it’s been danger, sleaze, hot-flash, danger, danger, sleaze, hot-flash…Christ! 

Honestly, I can do without it.  For me, it doesn’t make the story better.  I just don’t think this is the right genre for that sort of thing – and yet, the romance novels of the seventies were pretty vicious that way.  Acts that would get a man arrested and imprisoned were commonplace in the big, globe-trotting novels of the 70s.  Bertrice Small, Thea Devine, and Robin Schone made their fortunes by incorporating sleaze into their stories.   Call me judgmental or call me a taxi, but maybe romance needs to return to priority number one in romance novels.  Or…or, adjust your marketing.  If there’s a heavy sleaze factor, market your book to the Harold Robbins/Jacqueline Susann crowd.

PS: SILENT TRUTH’s cover is so beautiful! Such a gorgeous shade of green, the lettering, the design – so elegant. 

 

Coyote’s MateBengal’s HeartLion’s Heat

Phantom in The NightWhispered LiesSilent Truth

 

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

