ONE YEAR TO THE WORLD CUP: LEGENDS FORMED & DEFORMED

 

BOOKS BOUGHT BOOKS READ
IRONS IN THE FIRE
Russell Brand

GILEAD
Marilynne Robinson

THE GALLIC WAR
Cesear (Julius)

IRONS IN THE FIRE

WANNA PLAY?
Gail Faulkner

CRAFTING WRITERS
Elizabeth Hale

 

In the course of the coming year, I will try to highlight soccer books. Don’t be surprised if you see some repeats.  After a spell of distractedness these last couple of months, the Confederations Cup and our national team’s amazing accomplishments have inspired me to "get back in the game" (as opposed to "get back ON the game" which is a reference to prostitution).

I started IRONS IN THE FIRE as soon as I took it out of the box.  I was in the car at the time on my way to Smoothie King to get a medium “Light & Fluffy”.  I should know better than to read and drive.  I’ve had my share of fender benders.  But such is the tunnel vision of the habitual reader, especially when it’s a book you’re enthusiastic about. 

I am quite fond of Russell Brand. I like his self-deprecating comedy that enhances his personal vitriol at stupid, ignorant people.  He’s like Eddie Izzard in that sense. Those two guys are so freaking intelligent; it’s a shame that they camouflage it.  Coming out as a transvestite must be a piece of piss compared to coming out as an exceptionally intelligent, even intellectual person. The unwashed, unread masses would forgive a costumed clown before they would accept someone who sees their proud ignorance for the atrocity that it is. 

So, yeah…IRONS.  It’s a collection of Russell’s (can I call you Russell? Ta.)  columns about soccer for the London newspaper THE GUARDIAN during the 2006-07 season – a World Cup preparatory season.  It was a lead-in famous for stories of toe-knack and contract-knack and grudges.  Croatia would be playing an Australian team teeming with half-Croats.  The USA was going to try not to embarrass itself  (and failed horribly).  Germany had had a chemical peel and was looking fresh, shiny and butch with their new manager Juergen Klinsmann. 

But in England, there was a serious lack of creativity.  The team was depending on faded laurels Owen and Beckham, 9/11 of ManU, 3/11 of Liverpool, and a smattering of players from mid-table teams.  I better stop name-dropping because I can’t be arsed to link everything all the time.  Sigh…

One reason I love IITF is because it serves my ever decreasing attention span.  The columns are short, pithy, every-word-counts kind of writing that I love.  Also, writing like one speaks sounds easy to the unschooled, but it’s quite challenging.  You have to sound like yourself on purpose.  Elizabeth Gage, in CRAFTING WRITERS, says that one must isolate the quality of writing you want to master. So you basically have figure out what makes you sound like "you", then work from there.

 

Here are some of the soccer-intensive books I have:

Product Details Product Details Product Details
Product Details Product Details Product Details
Product Details Product Details Product Details

 

Leave a Reply

