I FEEL LUCKY, PUNK!

BOOKS BOUGHT

BOOKS READ


LOEB CLASSICS LIBRARY
Lives 1
by Plutarch

History of The Peloponnesian War by Thucydides

The Persian Wars by Herodotus

On Duties by Cicero

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith


Freedom and Death
by Nikos Kazantzakis

Nauti Nights
Nauti Dreams by Lora Leigh

Maverick by Lora Leigh

History of The Peloponnesian War by Thucydides

LCL Reader

 

I totally adore Borders at Huebner Oaks!  Great service: I didn’t have my discount card so they looked it up by my phone number.  Sweet!  And…AND! They had several Loeb Classics Library editions. Say what?! Oh yeah, bay-bee! I bought 4 — because I felt guilty about buying 6.  They were located in the miniscule Philosophy section. South Texas.  Go figure.  I put F&D aside for the 18th time to start reading Thucydides.  (T-Diddy!)  It’s the history of a war, but the beginning explains the settlement of Greece  before it was even called Greece.  I love that angle of history.  It reminded me of this other cool book I have about the barbarians vs. the Romans in Europe and Northern Africa.  And that stuff I like because it reminds me of Conan comics.  For more detailed information about this book series, visit my blog post ONLY ANTICIPATION REMAINED THERE IN ITS UNBREAKABLE HOME

Then there’s this book, PRIDE AND PREJUDICE — AND ZOMBIES.  I do not kid.  It’s exactly what it sounds like! I’m pissing myself laughing already — just from the premise.  Haven’t even started reading the book yet.  You HAVE to see the cover: George Romero undoes a Regency Lady.  Oddly, my dad found a paperback of P&P that the library was getting rid of so he got it for me.  He told me about it when he saw the Zombies version.  The fickle finger of fate gave me a bit of a tickle.  There’s just something about seeing the two versions side by side.

The wonderfully portable volume by Roman speech-meister Cicero has useful marginalia (not as icky as it sounds).  He lived in an exciting, turbulent time that makes for great History Channel documentaries.  The book is a collection of speeches and letters to and from him.  What makes this book stand out among the crowds on my shelves is that is has an interesting introduction.  Cicero lead a dramatic life that makes even dry, scholarly prose vibrate with vivacity.

For some reason, I was in the mood to re-read Nauti Dreams and Nauti Nights.  I like Dreams better.  Nights is too much like a 1970s romance where the guy is horrible to the woman and she falls in love with him while he’s being horrible. WTF! In that sense, I am modern. A woman who falls in love with a man who treats her like crap is so wrong in so many ways. It reminds me of the Harlequins I used to read back in the day.  The man treated the woman badly because he hated himself for being weak and loving her. WTF, like, to the 10th power!  But I bought it.  And I accepted.  Because I didn’t know any better.  Nowadays, not so willing to be a good little enabler and accept.

In the romance vein, Maverick is the new Elite Ops book from Lora Leigh.  The first book was about Nathan Malone and his new nom de guerre.  This one is about "Michah Sloane", former Mossad agent, and "Risa Clay", the daughter of "Jansen Clay" from "Hidden Agendas" (Keil and Emily’s story).  It’s pretty good, but like Wild Card, it shows signs of getting a tad stale.  I think I’m growing impatient with certain strains of character — emotionally tortured ones, it seems like.  I guess I just no longer care to read pages and pages of unrelieved emotional turmoil.  I find such emotionally unbalanced stories irritating.  All the angst must be balanced out with moments of levity or simple sanity. Still love Leigh, though.

F&D is like an old Harold Robbins novel from the 1960s. Except without the glamour.  Without the money, sex and drugs.  Without attractive people.  Ha!  I know it won a Nobel Prize for literature, but that doesn’t mean it’s easy to read. Right now, I’m about 6 chapters in and it still sounds like a freakin’ soap opera about men.  I’m sure it will get better as it goes along.  For the love of God, it has to.

~~*~~*~~*~~*~~

Other posts that mention Loeb Classics:

ONLY ANTICIPATION REMAINED THERE IN ITS UNBREAKABLE HOME

ODD BITS ON A TRIP TO BARNES & NOBLE

Other posts that mention Lora Leigh novels:

AN ELITE OPS TITILLATING TIDBIT COMPLIMENTS OF LORA LEIGH

2009 PRE-ORDERS: FANNING THE FIRE OF DESIRE

NEW SERIES BY LORA LEIGH — ELITE OPS (UNDER DEEP COVERS)

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by T8tube.com on May 8, 2009 at 1:10 PM

    good

    Reply

Leave a Reply

