Germans: Unspontaneous, micromanaging weirdos or gleefully chaotic?

 

Writing about soccer, the world’s most expensive cult.

Books Bought:

Books Read:

  • My Favourite Year
  • The Thinking Fan’s Guide…
  • Julie & Me, and Michael Owen (that plank!)
  • Fever Pitch

Related Posts:

A Man & His Ball: No Greater Love Pt. 2

A Man and His Ball–No Greater Love Pt. 1

Check out The Festering Book Browser for cover images.

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Project on December 7, 2007 at 9:35 PM

    Soccor is quite an emotional game I see..and see for me is up close, being one-half block from five large University soccor fields.
     
    There are two large inflated buildings for tennis courts, and has extenstive facilities including scoreboards and parking for several hundred cars..but during the play-offs, cars line the streets for blocks surrounding it, including my house next to the alley on the corner.
     
    There is a noise associated with it that rivals the large football games played at the stadium six blocks farther.
     
    It\’s an angry sound more like a battlefield in progress than an athletic event. Individual voices punctuate the roar as if ordering special attacks on the flank or some warning of mortal jeapordy.
     
    There\’s no mistaking who won and who lost as they trudge back to their new SUV\’s and little outbacks with ski racks and other outdoor gear.
     
    Soccor here is for rich kids only. The bulk are basketball or football as farm oriented and rural backgrounds. Our rodeo is bigger than our Football playoffs and we won WAC titles five times running.
     
    However, we lost the final game this year and broke the longest winning streak in America. Back to the drawing board..or square one?
     
    But I teach an empowerment system in pool, as in pool tables and balls.
     
    It\’s an 800 year-old game, and once more popular than all others played in Europe. It\’s an opportunity to test your strategies in one-on-one mental conflicts in a time where table combatants went to the field with swords, not guns.
     
    So mental development is it\’s first forms and purposes only..no gaming or gambling but for "all you have" as in real life at the time. Insults were sword duels to the death for instance.
     
    In the midst of all that serious training rose Sigmund Freud, Jung, and others who dedicated much to examination of the "inner man" as pool players today call that isolated person that\’s them..and..in psychopathic purity coupled with perfection…or die in those days as second place.
     
    So there were only two places in any of the first games..1st and none. Pool remains that way even today.
     
    Isolating, exercising, empowering, and making dominanant that perfect self is the teaching form the fifteenth and sixteenth century thinkers like Freud developed.
     
    And, it works very well, but takes ten years of hard exercise to overcome overlying personalities and social committments that the conscious selves have..like mercy..love..brotherhood..or cooperation of any kind.
     
    Today\’s market is politer of course, but schitzophrenic for sure in order to project that false image..losing sucks more in pool than any game they say.
     
    In anti-thesis, the developed player is admired as cool and above it all, and even so, there are none today in this whole world who have run the old disciplines as not feaseable..a true story too. It\’s an "all-day" discipline.
     
    But for you from me, I have been teaching my accelerated forms for fourty years and getting the same results as the ten-year descriptions of levels of capability, and producing visible attitudes of strategic thought asociated with "win only."
     
    I have hundreds of accomplished ones and what a success story for each one from an impossible start for all. I took only the bottom ghetto kids in the worst pool halls for students. Most now have degrees or better..like giant positions with large companies…boss or owner in fact for all.
     
    Moving into phenominal, I got a grant, got squashed for "success beyond acceptable" with my little girl model, and so I went years beyond that crude teaching level at the time that I was using for the grant form.
     
    Now, it\’s three days for a transition, ten for dominance, thirty for irreversible.
     
    And what do I get? A very proud Anglo-saxon-type warrior with no losses strutting around..and if you play one? Dead losses for you at their will..and the will of the winner only is different than all others.
     
    The university agrees in writing on my cancelled grant.
     
    I hope you will see me in that genre on Utube soon. We have recently made one film of interview and documentary, but making three more sales pitches with the attention-getter being the shots.
     
    Never-before viewed in public before I might add..a winner for television commercials in my mind, and I hope to coach ones like Janet Jackson and other medical research supporters..for a tool for them to produce more funds in fact.
     
    I try to imagine an entire team of violent Soccor players going though my program for a month..slaughter is all you would see and record-setting scores. And "how-to" is one of my Utube pitches. Girls of America, and Budweiser you bas*ards are two others.
     
    I expect to score heavily of course as I have conclusive results.
     
    Luck to both of us….DG

    Reply

  2. Posted by Steve on December 31, 2007 at 7:45 PM

    Fancy that.  Somebody else at the intersection of soccer and books.
     
    I saw your comment at Soccer Orb and thought maybe I\’d find a kindred spirit a mere click away.  And so I did.  I\’m also a fan of soccer (and like you and Susan, don\’t have any problem using that word even when smug purists looking for a row insist that it\’s football).  We seem to overlap with our taste in books, English culture, and occasional spleen-venting, too.  I have to love a site where words like shambolic, prat, and pitch are used with such apparent ease.
     
    Some of the books you mentioned are personal favorites.  Fever Pitch was the one that got me started with all this.  I see that you recommend several other Nick Hornby works, too.  I really enjoyed High Fidelity, but was less enthused by How to be Good.  It sounds like The Polysyllabic Spree should be the next one to try.  Back to soccer, I liked The Thinking Fan\’s Guide and The Miracle of Castel di Sangro, as well.  Another one you\’d probably like is Franklin Foer\’s How Soccer Explains the World. 
     
    I\’ll leave you with a monosyllabic message:  Have fun with your blog!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Project on May 17, 2008 at 12:50 AM

    Well hello, you are alive and very well it looks like..excellant.
     
    You won\’t find many books on my topic though as water "can\’t be compressed" at any University in the world.
     
    The astroid however is well-documented, and being tracked to the last piece I would suggest.
     
    But the earlier Navy example proved that vastly in error, and lower-end physics agrees somewhat at "use-levels" we have developed.
     
    What is, is of course…but a delemma as sworn to?
     
    We don\’t have the eighty years it took to form the round world, or the scientists to burn at the stake these days..ramp it up I say?
     
    And loudly I hope.
     
    David.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

